Let’s get a few things out of the way. Cave of Bones is well worth watching. The entire team at the Rising Star cave system has been doing incredible and incredibly valuable work in a very difficult context. They are heroes of science, no doubt about it. The discovery and the recovery of naledi remains is changing our understanding of who we are and how we got to be us. None of that is in question.

The footage is amazing. It gives the audience a rare glimpse into an amazing fieldwork process. It lets us listen to the thoughts and reflections of fieldworkers and other researchers. We see the reconstruction of a naledi skeleton. The whole thing is at once exciting and sobering.

And I have questions. And a few thoughts. First, it’s important for the audience to keep in mind throughout that the central claims around which the program is built, that naledi buried their dead and that they made engravings on cave walls, are not well supported by the evidence presented, either in the documentary or in the published academic papers. 

That fact doesn’t take away from the value of watching the show, but it must be borne in mind to get the most out of it. It is entirely possible that the claims will be well supported in the future, but they are not right now. You can see the original paper in which Berger et al. present their case for burial here, and you can see the peer reviews here.

Briefly (tl;dr, as the kids would say), there is currently little evidence that the claimed pit burial is actually a pit, and there is little evidence that it is more than a jumble of bones. Of course it could be, but I am not convinced by the published data, and neither are many of my colleagues.

Are these claimed burials just naledi who didn’t survive the incredibly dangerous trip through the caves and were never recovered by their people? Berger even comments on that at one point, and in the current state of the published data, that explanation is at least as convincing as the one presented in the program.

There is perhaps even less evidence that the claimed engravings are not natural. Maybe that will be forthcoming, but it isn’t there now.

But this stuff is not what Cave of Bones is really about. It presents the claims as established fact and uses them to discuss something bigger: What it means to be us, and how we go about finding out through paleoanthropological investigations. That’s a worthwhile set of reflections in itself, and it is merely unfortunate that the makers of the program felt the need to justify them with fairly weak hypotheticals. The reflections can and should stand on their own. The claims are just papier mâché props.

On the other hand, it isn’t surprising that the focus appears on the surface to be so strongly on the claims. This is archaeological mysticism at its purest. Everything is about the experience, and the experience is sufficient evidence of truth.

Once he has made the dangerous descent into the cave in which he never thought he would stand, Berger examines the claimed burial in person for the first time: “There is no doubt when you look at it from here”, and “I wish everyone could see this in real life.”

He’s been there, and we haven’t. He’s made it out alive and he’s told us his experience. That should be enough for us Thomases. “I came out of there a very different person”, he says. Experience is proof.

And when he looks at the claimed engravings: “I do not think that’s natural.” No need to physically compare the lines he identifies as engravings with the multitude of others, plainly visible elsewhere on the cave walls, or with other similar ones in other caves where there is no suspected naledi presence. Which is what I am waiting for to have an opinion on the whole potential engraving thing.

Of course, we don’t know how much of this archaeological mysticism belongs to Berger, and how much to the producers, or the editors, or anyone else. It is simply the impression left by Cave of Bones.

I sympathize with this mystical approach to archaeology to a certain extent, and am not immune to it myself. There are things I know in my heart about some of the sites on which I have worked, and that I will never be able to prove to someone else. I try to be careful to mark those things as speculation when I bring them up in any context, whether in class, in papers, or at a wine and cheese reception.

The impression left by what we see on screen is that Berger, Fuentes, and perhaps a bit less visibly Hawks, really want these claims to be true. They want the burials and engravings to be real. 

So do I. And I constantly have to remind myself that I am capable of holding simultaneously a strong desire for interesting possibilities to be true, and a powerful need for claims to be scientifically evaluated with evidence. It’s a difficult balance to maintain, and Cave of Bones is excellent training for it.

But as a viewer, I wish some of the considerable screen time given over to Berger’s personal expedition had been spent with the people who actually do the work in the cave. I wanted to see how they actually get down there, how they carry their gear, how they record their data. I wanted to hear from them. The team. Yes, even about their experience.

12 thoughts on “Review of Netflix’s Unknown: Cave of Bones

  1. I agree, seeing more about this species was/is interesting. That said…

    I thought the show was as bad as any UFO show on the “History Channel” It pissed me off that I wasted time watching it because the “evidence” was nonsense.

    If they had stuck to the science, it would have been awesome.

    They were talking about a period of over 30,000 years and there has been water in that cave for all that time as evidenced by the stalagmites. Hominids who are trapped in a cave may die in a fetal position trying to keep warm and be covered over with time. And the time was over 30K years. PLENTY of time.

    And when he said “there are no rocks in the cave”, I thought I was at a religious service and they were talking about Adam and Eve, it was that stupid, to call that a “tool” and say he was “holding it”

    They wanted to believe as much as any religious person and that is not science..

    Like

    1. I didn’t talk about the tool. That’s definitely another problem. In the papers so far, they have said the tool is near the hand, which could mean a lot of things. I think this is the first time they have said “in the hand.” Besides, it might not even be a tool as far as we know.

      Like

      1. I hate it too, because I wanted all of this to be true, and some of what they said was of course.

        When I first heard of this, I couldn’t wait to read more about it, but I read that peer review you posted, and that professor destroys them for shoddy work.

        I’m really disappointed it’s not true.

        This was a sentence that struck me… “An analysis also needs to start by testing a null hypothesis, not deciding on the conclusion and setting out to “prove” it”.

        I saw them do that right off and it was such a turn off, and I’m not eveb educated in your field.

        Like

  2. I watched this yesterday, and there was a few ‘red flags’ in my opinion as a professional archaeologist. A couple of things I haven’t seen pointed out in the article or comments — when Berger entered the Antechamber, he noticed the very obviously engravings/scratches on the wall. I find it hard to believe that no one in the 8+ years of work in the cave ever noticed or mentioned that, leading me to question the capabilities of the team. (I do realize it might have been an “dramatic moment” for the documentary). Additionally, they call the engravings “pictographs” in the documentary. Pictographs are painted images, petroglyphs are pecked or scratched into the rock. As someone who works with rock art a lot, I was quite astounded they used a completely inaccurate term and it wasn’t fixed before they released the documentary.

    Secondly, there was a segment about finding the hearth (soil stain). They immediately came to the conclusion that Naledi had fire, which I’m not disputing, however they never followed up on the further analysis of the feature. They flew the child burial all the way to France for advanced analysis, but they couldn’t conduct some radiocarbon dating of the hearth and share the results of the age of the feature in the documentary? I realize they might have decided to not include that sort of thing based on the general targeted audience of Netflix viewers, and I haven’t read any of the peer-reviewed articles. Personally, I would have really liked to see that.

    Another ‘red flag’ that didn’t sit well with me was the general treatment of the cave by the team. They were touching the cave, removing parts of the wall (when Berger went through the chute), etc. Although the cave walls aren’t knowingly archaeological (except the engravings), a cave environment is extremely fragile and sensitive to human touch and impacts. I couldn’t believe the lack of awareness the team was showing within the cave. And speaking of touching walls — when Berger found the engravings, he was touching them with his finger making contact with the rock. That is literally the worst possible thing you could do with rock art!!! The oils in our hands are extremely damaging, especially to rock art supposedly that old. And one more point about disrespect — I was really disappointed about their treatment of the child burial. It was heartbreaking to see the burial covered in plaster, beaten up to get out of the cave, and flown throughout the world. I understand that it provides priceless scientific information for the greater good, but it was also very disrespectful in my opinion.

    Anyways, rant is over. I’d love to hear anyone’s thoughts on the ‘red flags’ I laid out here. I did enjoy the documentary overall, I do think the team has done amazing work, and I’m excited to see where the continued research of Rising Star Cave goes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have no experience in this field at all. I am a layperson. However, I found it baffling that no one mentioned that at the time of the Naledi, it would have been physically impossible to 1. get across the gap (the professionals put down a plank), and 2. to get down the 18cm wide shaft-let alone get back up. The professionals used ropes, helmets, anchors, ladders, etc to get down that shaft with lights. How would it be at all possible for the Naledi to do this with no equipment, in the dark (fire on twigs doesn’t last that long), and then get back up the shaft with no assistance-and with a dead body in tow??? No one mentioned that 200,000 or so years ago the cave might have been structurally different. Also, how could the Naledi have found the innermost cavern at all? The bones that were found were fantastic, but so many questions that were never discussed. It really bothered me.

    Like

    1. All good and valid questions. As you point out, the access to the cave might have been different, but also, it could have been just as dangerous and difficult at the time than it is now, which some have suggested could explain that there are bodies down there.

      Still lots of research to do before there are solid answers, if ever.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I watched the documentary yesterday. I have mixed feelings about it, as a layperson who reads and writes extensively about human evolution. It is important to tell a story when presenting this kind of material, but that story must be based on facts. I think the basics of the access and final chamber are okay. The cross hatching was misrepresented as pictograms. Some conclusions were educated speculation. What disappointed me was the presentation of a burial as a multi-person event with a presumed spiritual and communal content. Merely being conscious in their own way (ie. not like h. sapiens) and living in a community of unique individuals means they would be special and important to one another. That is motive enough to lead to burial the behaviour imo because death always leads to the feeling ‘what happened to that special person?’ You don’t have to be spiritual or religious to feel that. What struck me is that actually 250,000 years isn’t that far in the past with regard to basic behaviour like being aware of self and uniqueness, wondering about death, etc. Hominids could deeply wonder about dying, but not necessarily know what to do about that. On balance, I think some kind of deliberate behaviour around the death of a naledi individual is probable. Just to finish up: there was an element of wishful thinking, but I think educated speculation is okay… just NOT the Hancock variety. We have to bring human psychology into this. We, after all, are conscious, even if naledi wasn’t quite…

    Like

Leave a comment